AfriLabs Welcomes 23 New Members Into Its Network Of Innovation Hubs

By  |  October 6, 2018

AfriLabs; one of Africa’s largest networks of technology and innovation hubs have announced the addition of 23 new hubs into its network. With the admission of these new entrants, AfriLabs now boasts a total of 123 hubs drawn from 34 different countries on the continent.

Lesotho, Burundi, Mozambique, and Sudan, are amongst the four African countries who are represented for the first time in AfriLabs’ network of African technology and innovation hubs. These countries each have an institution named in AfriLabs’ list of new additions into its network.

The latest addition is following from an earlier development which saw AfriLabs admit 40 new tech hubs into its network in June this year. This is reported to have increased the total number of African hubs on its network to a century of hubs from across 30 African countries with the new entrants being Morocco, Somaliland, Algeria, Angola, Mali, and Cote d’Ivoire at the time. This development succeeded the admission of seven new hubs into the AfriLabs network in 2017.

With these new additions, AfriLabs can be considered to have experienced considerable growth in the past decade given that it only started with five technology and innovation hubs back in 2011.

“We are excited to have these new members join our AfriLabs family as well as extend our reach to more African countries. We believe that we are moving closer to an integrated and prosperous continent favored by open collaboration, innovation, and entrepreneurship, and driven by hubs and their communities across Africa,” commented Anna Ekeledo, Executive Director of AfriLabs, with regards to the development.

Cross-Border Money Transfer In Africa: Is Bitcoin The Golden Silver Bullet?


Burundi’s Impact Hub, Lesotho’s The Hub, Sudan’s Impact Hub, and Mozambique’s Ideario are amongst tech hubs drawn from the four countries that are represented on the AfriLabs network for the first time. Five hubs from Nigeria, four from Kenya, three from Cameroon, and one apiece from South Africa, Ghana, Zambia, Tanzania, Togo, Malawi and the Democratic Republic of Congo, make up the rest of the 23 new hubs that have been admitted into AfriLabs’ network of technology and innovation hubs in Africa.



This post was updated on 06/10/18

Journalism is broken in Africa

Help us build a narrative on African Business, Startups, Tech and Economy
Join us today to empower great story telling, one story at a time

Monthly Membership


(billed monthly)

Access To 1 Month WT Membership

Access To Premium Newsletters For 1 Month

1 Month Access To WT's Content Archive

Access To WT's Conferences & Events

Access To All WT's Research Reports On Africa

Access To Podcasts, Video Content & Recordings

Subscribe Now

Annual Membership


(billed annually)

Access To 12-Month WT Membership

Access To WT's Conferences & Events

Access To All WT's Research Reports On Africa

Access To Podcasts, Video Content & Recordings

Access To All Premium Newsletters

Unlimited Access To WT's Content Archive

Subscribe Now

If you are a Corporate or a Student, please reach out to us for subscription at [email protected]