South Africans Can Now Visit These 100 Countries Without A Visa

By  |  October 2, 2019

According to the latest Henley passport index, a passport index which periodically measures the access each country’s travel document affords, South Africans with passports can now visit at least 100 countries without obtaining visas in advance.

The Henley Passport Index is based on IATA data, enhanced by extensive in-house research, supported by expert commentary, and updated periodically throughout the year.

The index shows that the Southern Africa country has moved up one place to be 53rd position.

“Regionally, Seychelles, Mauritius and South Africa remain the top 3, with a global ranking of 26, 30, and 53 respectively,” the report read.

The latest countries to relax their visa requirements are Namibia and Sierra Leone.

Cross-Border Money Transfer In Africa: Is Bitcoin The Golden Silver Bullet?


“Sub-Saharan Africa continues to make tentative progress in terms of improving its accessibility. Sierra Leone and Namibia are the latest countries to ease visa restrictions as a means of attracting foreign investment, revenue, and skillsets to augment their economic development goals, ” a part of the report read.

Namibia recently introduced Visa on Arrival recently in an attempt to boost tourism and further propel economic growth. The country launched a visa on arrival for 47 countries.

Below are the list of countries South Africans can visit visa-free:

Image Courtesy: Allure

Africa: Angola, Madagascar, Kenya, Zambia, Ghana, St. Helena, Benin, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Swaziland, Botswana, Mauritania, Tanzania, Cape Verde Islands, Mauritius, Togo, Comores Islands, Mozambique, Tunisia, Ethiopia, Namibia, Uganda, Gabon, Reunion, Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, Seychelles, Lesotho, Sierra Leone and Somalia.
Europe: Ireland, Kosovo, and Russia.

Asia: Cambodia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong, Maldives, Tajikistan, Indonesia, Nepal, Thailand, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, Timor-Leste, Laos, Singapore, Macao, and South Korea.

Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominican Republic, St. Lucia, Bahamas, Grenada St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados, Haiti Trinidad and Tobago, British Virgin Islands, Jamaica Turks and Caicos, Cayman Islands. Montserrat, Dominica, and St. Kitts and Nevis

Oceania / Australia: Cook Islands, Micronesia, Samoa, Fiji, Niue, Tuvalu, Marshall Islands, Palau Islands, and Vanuatu.

America: Chile, Guyana, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Honduras and Venezuela,Argentina, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Belize, El Salvador Panama, Bolivia, Falkland Islands, Paraguay, Brazil, Guatemala, and Peru.

Middle East / Others: Armenia, Israel, Qatar, Georgia, Jordan, Iran, and Palestinian Territory.

Featured Image Courtesy: World Travel Guide

Most Read

Why Africa’s Bumpy Automotive Marketplace Is Revving With Acquisitions

Regardless of narratives depicting heavy traffic congestion and perpetually busy roads, the world’s

Post-pandemic, Exorcising African Edtech’s Many Demons Is A Chore Beyond Casting Lots

For the first time in history, the youngest-ever president in French antiquity did

Can Africa Catch A Strangely Yet-Unloved Buy-Now-Pay-Later Fever?

When Martin Akwanga, 26, got bored of graphics design which he had done