Operations To Be Paralyzed As Workers In More Than 20 Kenyan Counties Down Tools Over Unpaid Dues

By  |  August 13, 2019

County Government workers from over 20 counties are planning to embark on a strike over delays in the payment of their July salaries.

The devolved units have insufficient internal revenues to pay the salaries and they mainly rely on the national government allocations.

The delay in July salaries has been caused by the stalled approval of two bills which guide the sharing on national revenues between county governments and the central governments.

The pending Division of Revenue Bill has created disagreements on allocations between the National Assembly and the Senate.

The Bill was passed by the National Assembly and rejected by the Senate, Members of Parliament and the Treasury insist on an allocation of Sh316 billion to the 47 counties

Cross-Border Money Transfer In Africa: Is Bitcoin The Golden Silver Bullet?


However, the Senate amended the bill to raise the allocation to counties to Sh335 billion, this was informed by a recommendation from the Commission of Revenue Allocation (CRA).

Governors are also insisting on Sh335 billion but the President has opposed this saying the Government has no money.

“I want to tell the governors and those agitating for the increase of allocation to counties that they should work with what they have. That is all that is there. The government does not print money, we have to work with what we have,” he said at a past event.

Kenya County Government Workers Union (KCGWU) general secretary Roba Duba said that if the workers will not have received their salaries by the end of Tuesday, county governments will be paralyzed beginning Wednesday.

“Timely disbursement of salaries ensures that workers are able to meet their financial obligations as and when they become due.

“Workers are not a party to the Division of Revenue dispute; hence any delay is illegal and unacceptable,” he said.

Only 23 out the 47 counties have paid the July salaries, counties which have not paid their workers include; Nairobi, Migori, Makueni, Trans Nzoia, Kakamega, Kisii, Wajir, Nyamira, Nyandarua, Lamu, Kwale and Tana River. Others are Garissa, Mandera, Kajiado, Turkana, Nandi, Bomet, Vihiga, Narok, Mombasa, Siaya and Kiambu.

Counties which will be affected include Kitui, Machakos, Embu, Meru, Bungoma, Nakuru, Elgeyo Marakwet, Tharaka Nithi, Isiolo and Marsabit.

Featured Image Courtesy: Standardmedia.co.ke

Journalism is broken in Africa

Help us build a narrative on African Business, Startups, Tech and Economy
Join us today to empower great story telling, one story at a time

Monthly Membership


(billed monthly)

Access To 1 Month WT Membership

Access To Premium Newsletters For 1 Month

1 Month Access To WT's Content Archive

Access To WT's Conferences & Events

Access To All WT's Research Reports On Africa

Access To Podcasts, Video Content & Recordings

Subscribe Now

Annual Membership


(billed annually)

Access To 12-Month WT Membership

Access To WT's Conferences & Events

Access To All WT's Research Reports On Africa

Access To Podcasts, Video Content & Recordings

Access To All Premium Newsletters

Unlimited Access To WT's Content Archive

Subscribe Now

If you are a Corporate or a Student, please reach out to us for subscription at [email protected]